The WTF College Football rankings… week 1

4 09 2007

NCAA… ummmm… huh?A lot of you realise that I also write from time-to-time over at the excellent conglomerative blog, Epic Carnival. Lotsa folks writing there, and I believe it’s really helped my writing… and general sports awareness.

However…
I was asked to submit a 20+1 rankings for NCAA football. Are you kidding me? I literally have NFI (and I don’t mean the National Film Institute) on college football. Sure, heard of some of the teams before, but I lack the awareness that the general guy living in the US has. Totally lack. Like… a void.

I think it’s important for each & every one of you to realise that I’m an Australian guy, living in Japan. Whilst I enjoy watching the American game, I tend to lean more towards the professional game – where news/games are readily available, and my awareness of players/teams is pretty damn good on that (enough to hold my own in Fantasy Leagues et al). Add to that, I lack the sense of allegiance that actually attending a college/university gives.
Still, I know all the really ‘big’ teams: USC, LSU, UCLA, FBI… errr… anyway (yes, I know… awful, awful pun using acronyms), I thought I’d make my college 20+1 rankings based entirely on how cool the logo on their helmet looks. As I said, when it comes to College football, I have no idea. So…
20 + 1: Washington – plain… but has a bit of class about it.
20: Miami – the two-tone ‘U’ has cool written all over it.
19: Oklahoma – does the wind really come sweepin’ down the plain?
18: Rutgers – White on red… striking, but pretty common
17: California – classic stylin’…
16: Kent State – a lil’ cartoon-ish… but works.
15: Michigan – weird, but kinda cool. In a weird-kinda-way.
14: North Carolina – powder blue works for the Chargers too…
13: Colorado State – the gold ‘n’ green works (especially for an Aussie)
12: Louisiana Monroe – Classic, but a lil’ different
11: Nevada-Reno – Wolf on the side of a helmet… I mean… c’mon – that is cool.
10: Southern Illinois – tell me: what is a ‘saluki’?
9: Alabama-Birmingham (UAB) – Fire-breathing dragons? All over it.
8: Arkansas – a pig? Ok… a vicious-looking pig, but a pig none-the-less!
7: UCLA – classic look
6: Hawaii – 5-0 baby!
5: USC – ok… I’ll avoid the prophylactic innuendos & just say it looks cool.
San Diego State helmet… way cool.4: Akron – hey… it’s a ‘Roo – what can I say I’m an Aussie!
San Diego State helmet… way cool. 3: TCU – Err… a christian college with a Horny Frog as it’s mascot? Egads, but I love irony.
2: Texas – Longhorns… now that is cool. Really cool.
1: San Diego State – love the fade-to-black. Excellent. And the ‘A’ logo is stylin’…

G’damnit… they’ve asked me to do an update now… I responded with a “but the helmets aren’t gonna change”… but alas, no luck.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 09 2007
Mike White

Yes! Someone actually ranked my Tar Heel football team in their top 20. It’s almost like I bribed you or something.

5 09 2007
Vassago

So what about Texas Tech… with their baller Under Armour gear… Black and red is a classic, but when you throw in the best preformance gear out there, with stylish reults… at least check ’em out.

5 09 2007
The Top 25, 25 and Under at I’m Writing Sports

[…] these out when you’re done: Ranking College Football by Helmets? (With Malice) Coach Mark Mangino explodes (Ball Hype/ You Tube) Cut Izzy Some Slack (Bugs and […]

26 09 2007
I’m Writing Sports: Free OJ! | The Top 25, 25 and Under

[…] these out when you’re done: Ranking College Football by Helmets? (With Malice) Coach Mark Mangino explodes (Ball Hype/ You Tube) Cut Izzy Some Slack (Bugs and […]

Leave a Reply

