GIANTS WIN THE SUPER BOWL 17-14!!!

4 02 2008

Call it schadenfreude to an extent, but boy, am I happy that the Giants won…

In what must rank as the greatest upset ever, Eli Manning leading an amazing drive to finish the Patriots with 35 seconds to go, making a pass to Plaxico Burress to take the lead 17-14 with under a minute to go. 
This, after they’d lead for most of the 4th 10-7, and the Pats making an awesome drive themselves to hit the front 14-10.

18-1. 
’72 Dolphins, your place in history is safe.  On the downside, that means more Mercury Morris.
Still, you can’t have everything. Just ask Tom Brady.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank

Actions

Information

10 responses

4 02 2008
Steve

Hi Don, I could only see the first half of this game before I had to come into work. I was really impressed with how well the Giants Defense was playing. It’s going to be interesting to listen to Patriot Fans excuses(Brady not100%) and all of that. All credit to the Giants. It is the biggest upset in Super bowel history. It also is kind of an interesting book end for Brady-the Pats were big underdogs when they upset the Rams for their first super bowel win. I can hardly wait to see the second half that I recorded before going to work.

4 02 2008
Steve

The only downer, has you alluded to, is now we have to keep listening to surviving members of the ’72 Dolphins and how great they were….

4 02 2008
withmalice

Hey Steve… only Mercury Morris – the other guys, fine.
Mercury should just_shut_up.

4 02 2008
Steve

I cannot think of the last time that I remember rooting for a New York area team against a team from New England….who am I kidding? This WAS the first time. The only thing I was bummed about the Pats losing was Lawrence Maroney was a good player when he played his college ball at the University of Minnesota. It will be interesting to read the post-mortem of this loss in the Boston web sites.

4 02 2008
withmalice

I’ve never cheered for New York. Ever.
First time for everything… and it does leave me feeling a lil’ dirty… but hey – take a shower! 🙂

4 02 2008
Aaron Becker

Mercury is rather annoying.

But what I really care about, is………does my Vikings road beat-down of the Giants this year give hope for next year? But then again, the Giants only beat the Fins by 3.

I can’t wait till the draft……….

4 02 2008
Steve

Aaron, I think the Beat-down in the meadowlands and the win against the Chargers give the Vikings more hope this off season compared to last year. What will be interesting to see is what moves the Vikings make for wide recievers and defensive back help.

5 02 2008
Aaron Becker

>>What will be interesting to see is what moves the Vikings make for wide recievers and defensive back help.<<

Agreed, even though I think we have 2-3? potentials…..I’m hoping some how we could some how maybe finagle a trade for Chad Johnson?

My team is primed – we’re just missing a couple of key positions.

8 02 2008
Matt

HELL YEAH!

What a performance. Don, if you want my POV, that is, from an Ethics lecture at NSW Police Academy, i will gladly.

Suffice to say, it was the noisest an Ethics lecture has ever gotten.

8 02 2008
withmalice

Sure Matt, shoot me an email!

Leave a Reply

