Spurred to Victory: San Antonio to win in 7

12 05 2008

Amazing.
What do the New Orleans Hornets have to do to get some lovin’?
Finish second in the hardest playoff race that has ever been seen in NBA history?
Sorry, no love for you.
How about thrash the Dallas Mavericks, and leave the entire franchise guessing about who they are?
Nuh-uh, no dice.
Then waddabout stomping the reigning Champion San Antonio Spurs in games 1 & 2 of their Western Conference semi-final series?
Sorry, still closed to giving respect.

And that’s about where I find myself. Unbelievably, but the Spurs are going to win this series. Yes, the odds are against teams who lose games 1 and 2, but the momentum is certainly with the Spurs, who played turn-about on New Orleans, beating them 110-99 & 100-80 after losing the first two 82-101 & 84-102. But whatever the odds, you can count on Gregg Popovich grabbing hold of them and having his team believe that they are still in this. That they can go into the New Orleans Arena, and perform a reversal of fortune.
And you know what? I believe it too.

Byron’s boys – Chris Paul, David West & co. have been nigh on unstoppable at times… but then Tim Duncan, Manu Ginobli & Tony Parker have been doing this for years.

I know this position is going to upset Hornets fans, but who in their right mind would bet against the Spurs?
Yes, as I said before: I know that New Orleans has suffered through a lack of respect all season. So, what’s a lil’ more going to hurt?

Spurs win this, in 7.

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 05 2008
withmalice

Aaaaaand… I hate to say ‘I told you so’, but I TOLD YOU SO!

20 05 2008
fouledout

i was rooting for the hornets to win.. oh well.. haha!

20 05 2008
withmalice

I wanted the Hornets to win, just didn’t think they would. As I said above (8 days ago, when the series was tied up at 2-a-piece) – why would you bet against the Spurs?

22 05 2008
retired & loving it

I peeked at your site before the final game 7 and hoped you were correct predicting the Spurs to win. You go!!!! My son is an avid Celtics fan – any predictions on the Lakers/Spurs series? Really enjoy your site!

22 05 2008
withmalice

Hey…
Yup, made my prediction.
And thanks…

Leave a Reply

