Celtics in White Hats

2 06 2008

Sheesh… what did I let myself in for?  Rob (Brumbygg9), who is a some-time writer here (I use the appellation ‘writer’ very loosely), is a big-time Boston Celtics fan.  So who better here to write on ‘why-the-Celtics-will-win’…

The Eternal Battle of Good and Evil…

Otherwise known as the Celtics and Lakers go at it again! In case you hadn’t guessed, I’m dressing the Celtics in the white hero hats…

Two of the NBA’s most storied franchises are about to go it again. The Boston Celtics haven’t been to the finals since 1987 when the original Big 3 suited up and they lost in 6 games to Pat Riley’s “show time Lakers”. Since then the Celtics have been mired in mediocrity with playoff appearances few and far between and almost uniformly uninspiring. The Lakers endured some lean years themselves after 1991 until the Shaq and Kobe inspired 3-peat from 00-02.

Donny (With Malice editor) asked me to come up with some reasons why the Celtics will win this series. Excluding “because I’d really like them to” and “Don will make my life a misery if they don’t” I’ve come up with my 5 reasons why the Celtics win the championship this season.

  1. More options
    The Lakers have Kobe and Gasol. Odom will contribute, but don’t expect much else to happen in terms of scoring. KG, Ray Ray and Pierce will share it around, Rondo and Kendrick “playing like Bill Russell” Perkins will continue to make contributions, Posey, PJ and Sam I Am will do a little damage off the bench. The Lakers have a talented bench, but when you don’t get your hands on the rock, you aren’t going to score points.
  2. Home court advantage
    Don’t kid yourself, the Celtics have shown just how big this is throughout the playoffs so far. The Cs will win at home and have shown they can get it done on the road too.
  3. Offense vs Defense
    Lakers have a great offense, Boston offense is pretty special too.
    Celtics have great defense, Lakers don’t.
    Look for the Celtics to harass Kobe and keep his points down. Defensive MVP KG will take out Gasol which means Perkins, PJ and Powe can rotate on Odom.
  4. Rajon Rondo vs Derek Fisher
    Rondo wins the battle of the PGs, earns the right to be counted and gets the ring. Seriously though, Rondo has to be the man here, look after the rock, and force the Lakers to guard him by being a legitimate offensive threat. I say he gets it done.
  5. Destiny
    As the great George McFly once tried to explain –
    George McFly: Lorraine, my density has bought me to you.
    Lorraine Baines: What?
    George McFly: Oh, what I meant to say was…
    Lorraine Baines: Wait a minute, don’t I know you from somewhere?
    George McFly: Yes. Yes. I’m George, George McFly. I’m your density. I mean… your destiny.

I just get a sense that it all comes together for the Celtics this year. Pierce, Ray Ray and KG will never have a better chance than this. Celtics win in 6, Brumby is happy, happy man, Donny enters monastery as novice monk, shaves his head (oops, too late) and takes vow of silence!

Actions

Information

12 responses

2 06 2008
withmalice

“…and takes vow of silence!”

Ice cube’s chance in hell of that happening!

And tell me: do they have good beer in that alternate reality in which you reside?

2 06 2008
brumbygg9

ever see Happy Gilmour?

Beer, midgets, Julie Bowen in white lingerie, granny have a hapy time….. that’s my reality!

2 06 2008
withmalice

Yup… given your post, I had ‘beer’ figured heavily into the equation.

3 06 2008
Celtics247.com » Blog Archive » Today’s Links 6/2

[…] Celtics-Lakers lookback 1987 Bucks Diary Will Ray Allen be Kobe’s waterloo? With Malice Celtics in white hats Orlando Sentinel Is Bill Simmons the Celtics’ secret weapon? OddJack Can the Celtics win […]

3 06 2008
FeetinthePaint

God, I love Back to the Future references. On that alone, I have to agree with that Finals prediction.

3 06 2008
brumbygg9

You have to respect a man who goes with the BTTF quotes! I think this is a going to be a great series with some classic games.

3 06 2008
fouledout

sorry brumbygg9 and feetinthepaint, but i’ll with the lakers in this one.. haha! i think they’ll win in all this year.. for the record, I don’t like the lakers and celtics, but with their current match-up, i’ll go with the lakers this time..

3 06 2008
brumbygg9

you can’t fight George McFly on this….

3 06 2008
withmalice

Stay tuned for tomorrow… I have someone to beat George McFly…

4 06 2008
Chuck Norris says LA in 5 « With Malice…

[…] Chuck Norris says LA in 5 4 06 2008 Ok… this is my piece in response to Celtic fan Rob’s ‘Celtics in White Hats’… […]

6 06 2008
Right of reply « With Malice…

[…] a right of reply – to my points raised in the Chuck Norris bit, which was a response to his Celtics in White post… and I told him I’d give it to him. What I didn’t tell him is that I would reply […]

19 06 2008
In Review… who picked what, and who messed up « With Malice…

[…] 4 Guidos, Ryan Schwan of Hornets247, Nick from The Nugg Doctor, Nels from Give Me The Rock, and our very own […]

Leave a Reply

