Drama today… A comparative look at 70s TV & the NBA.

18 06 2007

Definitely inspired by both Pyle of List‘s excellent Kill Buss creation, and the very funny ‘The Spurs Don’t Exactly Rock’ from Rumors and Rants

I grew up in the 70s. As a kid, I endured flared purple pants with matching jacket… paisley… bell-bottom jeans… velure tops… questionable hair… not-so-high platform soles… and literally square miles of polyester. And the TV shows. Really, really bad TV. Cheesey. But so cheesey it was kinda fun. The Brady Bunch, Bewitched, Colombo & Number 96 (I wish… I was too young – but here’s a taste of Australia’s *best* from the 70s).

I think all of it has indelibly marked me… but I’m recovering (with qualified help, but that’s another story).

But reading some of the stuff on blogs recently got me thinking… if the NBA teams were TV Shows, what TV show would they be?

Here are a few of the really apparent ones that leapt out at me…

dool.jpg

Los Angeles Lakers – Days of our Lives… Unfortunately (or fortunately – depending on where your allegiance lies) that’s what LA’s become. Drama abounds galore, and what does it all signify? Ultimately, nothing… and yet we’re drawn in. You can walk away, ignore it for 2 years – then come back & get back up-to-date within minutes. Story’s the same, only the faces have changed. And given Kobe’s latest hue & cry – a diva who’s become too big for his own stage…

jeannie-lebron.jpg

Cleveland Cavaliers – For a while there (ie. around the end of the vs Detroit series) I had them down as ‘I dream of Genie’, or even Bewitched – I know they cast a spell on me (I thought that they might actually give the Spurs a game)… now I just have them as ‘Gilligan’s Island’. Role players around a central guy who (at the moment, with the finals oh-so-fresh in my mind) seems a bit inept. Yes, I just jumped off the bandwagon (until next season anyway).

the-spurs-family.jpg

The reigning champions, the Spurs. Gotta be the Addams Family. C’mon, can’t you just see Timmy saying “You rang?”!!! Manu “Gomez” Ginobli, Greg “Uncle Fester” Popovich, and Tony “Thing” Parker??? It’s even in black & white, just like San Antonio!!

And… the Addams Family got pretty damn boring to watch in the last years too.

The Phoenixs Suns – in my humble opinion the best team (yeah… I KNOW they didn’t win the Western Conference Finals) in the NBA. So, what other TV show could they be but

suns.jpg

Think about it… a leader who is a master of disguise (-ing the pass), with a penchant for danger – are we talking George Peppard or Steve “Hannibal” Nash? A muscle-bound side-kick? Quick, someone give Amare a bad mo-hawk! Who can’t see Amare “Bad Attitude” Stoudemire saying “I pity the foo’ who goes out tryin’ a’ take over da world NBA!”

amare.jpg

 

Lastly, Miami…

1974_fat_albert_comic.jpg

Do I need say more?


Digg!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button


Actions

Information

15 responses

19 06 2007
sonsofsammalone

no problem on the link…and I’m still not sure Tiger is human…I think he’s on roids though…haha

19 06 2007
cuzoogle

funny list

it would be interesting to keep that up with new teams and issues.

the knicks must be something!

19 06 2007
BLOGGAS BE TYPIN « YOU BEEN BLINDED

[…] A 70’s tv/today’s NBA mash-up. Courtesy of With Malice […]

19 06 2007
Top Posts « WordPress.com

[…] Drama today… A comparative look at 70s TV & the NBA. Definitely inspired by both Pyle of List’s excellent Kill Buss creation, and the very funny ‘The Spurs […] […]

19 06 2007
puddlehead

Good call. Manu “Gomez,” though, would flail uncontrollably, dropping Angelica with a wicked non-call elbow to the chops. End of series. Divorce. Alas.

19 06 2007
19 06 2007
I Want to be a Sports Agent » Blog Archive » Carnival Of The NBA #45 - Final Draft

[…] we are on the subject of nicknames, With Malice relates NBA teams with popular old TV shows. I have always been scared of the thought of a Greg “Uncle Fester” Popovich lurking […]

20 06 2007
netshock

yaghnnnnnn

20 06 2007
Extra P.

So Tiger’s fist pump is actually roid rage?

17 07 2007
Jessie

Jessie

Great work! You have obviously put a lot of thought into this.

23 07 2007
Marian Jones

Marian Jones

I Googled for something completely different, but found your page…and have to say thanks. nice read.

24 07 2007
Crewe

Crewe

25 07 2007
Maria Sansone

Maria Sansone

I Googled for something completely different, but found your page…and have to say thanks. nice read.

26 07 2007
Miami Athletics

Miami Athletics

I don’t agree with you in 100%, but you covered some good points regarding this topic

5 03 2008
NBA Franchises As TV Shows, Redux « With Malice…

[…] Franchises As TV Shows, Redux 5 03 2008 A loooooong time ago I did a piece comparing NBA franchises to TV shows. Well, time to revisit that. A lot’s changed in the NBA since that piece was written, so only […]

Leave a comment